GameCube games systems
Home  Products  Reviews  About  Contact 


Smashing Drive
By: Namco       Average Rating: 3.5     Total Reviews: 19
More Information

Very fun     On: 2005-01-28

This game is good and cool and more when you crash into the car and get on fire and in the last level is good because you go on the top of statue of libirty. Cool game
Viewers who trash this game are complete idiots!     On: 2004-08-07

This game rules, I loved playing it! It was totally pimpin and people who trash it have a serious mental problem! I mean come on this game rocks! If you like to crash into things, race through seriously awesome shortcuts, and run into King Kong, then youll love it!
Good concept, bad game     On: 2004-06-04

Smashing Drive is built upon the idea of racing through these convoluted, jumbled city streets and smashing just about everything in your way. This, in itself, is fun, but the things that bog the game down are numerous. I can excuse the bad graphics, even the annoying sound and music, but the fact that the game is WAY too short and limits how much fun you can have is inexcusable. What I mean is, every race is set against a timer, as well as an opponent, so you are forced to beat the levels under a lot of pressure. Theres no time to just sit back and have a good time. The 1-player mode can be beat in an hour. The 2-player mode will last you an hour longer before you get sick of this narrow-minded game.
why do so many people trash this game?     On: 2004-05-15

This is really a great game for racing fans that want some originality. You can get so many great power ups, and the graphics on your car and your rivals car are VERY detaild.
Your tires can get shredded your windows break, your hood can catch fire, any thing that can happen, will happen.
The overall graphics are not that great, more like N64 style.
The game is very short, but holds great replay value in head to head mode.
Better than any taxi game EVER, plus in the third level, you get to race a giant gorilla(king kong?) up a building!
Great for the price, racing fans should pick this up.
(Its also a great party game).
My 3 Year Old Loves it     On: 2002-12-04

We got this game for our sons 3rd birthday thinking he could watch us play (he loves watching us play games) and thinking he could play once in awhile...well when we got it I sat down for an hour and finished the game...hubby has played a couple times and doesnt like it...but our son loves to sit down and play...he so close to finishing the game...so I have to say Great for 3 year olds...beyond boring for anyone older and the music is sooo annoying.
THAT SONG WOULD ANNOY THE HEARING IMPAIRED     On: 2002-11-11

THIS GAME IS NOT WHAT I WAS HOPING FOR. BUT ITS NOT A TOTAL LOSS EITHER. ARCADE FANS WILL LOVE IT. ITS FUNNY HOW N64 PUSHED SO MANY GREAT RACING TITLES, BUT SOME HOW THERE IS SO FEW ON GAMECUBE. BE PATIENT THE BEST RACING GAMES YOULL EVER PLAY WILL ARRIVE ON GAMECUBE BEFORE YOU KNOW IT. F-ZERO WHERE ARE YOU?
Garbage     On: 2002-06-18

This game is the biggest load of garbage that Ive had the displeasure of playing on the GameCube. The controls are terrible, the car handles like its glued to the road, the CPU opponent seems to have abilities that make no sense (like moving through other cars and walls), and will often completely disappear! On the plus side, the intro movie is pretty nice, and... thats about it. The music for each level doesnt loop -- after one play, it just stops. The sound effects are just terrible, and the graphics really belong on a last generation console. Crazy Taxi is your best bet if you want a taxi driving game. Burnout and XG3 are amazing racing games. Smashing Drive makes me die inside, a little at a time.
could have been better...     On: 2002-05-09

i really think this game should never have touched my gamecube. i rented it and returned the next day. the graphics were N64 and it was not in an even slightly free roaming environment. crazy taxi is way way better even if u hate it. This game ..[is no good] and thats final.
Smashing Drive. The craziest taxi game.     On: 2002-03-25

Finally Namco makes a great game. You rule the ten levels with craziest taxi ( monster truck) ever. The taxi has a buzz saw to cut right through cars. The taxi also has monster truck tires. The taxi has finally the boosters. The taxi makes cars go flying. Thing before you buy a stupid game like Crazy Taxi or Simpsons Road Rage and youll know to buy Smashing Drive. Namco struck lucky. Smashing Drive is going to be the greatest and craziest taxi game. The best taxi will use the buzz saws to cut through the crazy taxi and the Simpsons car.
C'mon, this game isnt worth it!     On: 2002-03-25

I gave this 2 stars because, this game basically [is bad]. It will probably entertain you for the most of one afternoon. One of the two main problems (and they are big I might add) is the very short game. It consists of 4 levels, (early bird, ect.)and they are all very short. There are some cool things in this game, like using a sonic horn to blow up cars, but the rest of the game is anoyying. You will beat this game in less then an hour. The second thing is the very irritating music. It is a grunge rock kinda song that no one can understand, and it plays over an over again. The worst choice of music in a game ever. I have to say, namco probably did put a lot of work into publishing this program. But at the price, why waste your money. I would have to agree with Gamespot.com, this game will only appeal to true arcade fans.
Good game, WAY too short     On: 2002-03-18

I rented this game and thought it was pretty fun... aside from the fact that I beat it in two hours! This is a great game, I think its much more fun than Crazy Taxi, but if you want a challenging game, dont buy Smashing Drive.
BETTER THAN CRAZY TAXI!!(...)     On: 2002-03-15

Smash the cars. I hope you buy, because its the best GameCube game. GameCube rules.
Smashing Drive is way better than Crazy Taxi     On: 2002-03-15

My name is Nate. Hey have play Crazy Taxi. Do you like it? If you did, Smashing Drive is the game for you. Its a awesome game to beat the best possible time. The wheels are the size of monster truck wheels. The car had a booster. The car can break car like a little baby. Hear comes this crazy monster truck taxi break a tiny crazy taxi into pieces. This game rules!
What an amazing game!     On: 2002-02-25

This game is extremely fun, great graphics,and one of the best games nintendos lisenced! In this game you race the CPU through ton s of life-like cities while tring not to crash into any obsticles. There are also short- cuts which can give youa better lead. Also there are power ups which help you. Trust me, this is not a game you want to pass up!
Not the best graphics but great fun     On: 2002-02-23

This game is a bit like Hydro Thunder in that its all-out racing and trying to find short-cuts and get power-ups. The graphics are just OK- it kinda looks like it was done to cover a large number of platforms as its not as good as Luigi or SW:RSL, but the gameplay makes up for it. Its a lot of fun to play. The only couple of things that suck about it are that it wont work with the component cable (no big deal), the physics model is floaty (maybe intentional, but it doesnt feel as fast as Crazy Taxi.), and that the music is incredibly gay. It sounds like a 1987 Vegas top-40 lounge act, except for the track where this 1987 Vegas top-40 lounge act got told to listen to Rob Zombie, then it sounds sounds like Fine Young Cannibals trying to sound like Rob Zombie. It motivates me to drive fast about as much as a Barbara Strisand musical soundtrack. Id actually give it 3.5 stars if I could. I would say if you like Hydro Thunder youll probably like Smashing Drive.
This game rocks     On: 2002-02-23

Dont listen to the other people who say this game is no good. They are probably XBox or PS2 fans and probably havent even play the game, non the less own the Gamecube. Buy Gamecube. It is the leader of the sales. Gamecube lives. Down with PS2 and Xbox!
IF YOU LIKE CRAZY TAXI, YOU WILL LOVE THIS GAME     On: 2002-02-22

At first sight you may notice that this game plays much like crazy taxi, but after you play it you realize there is much more to this game. The objective is still to get taxi patrons where they are going in the shortest amount of time possible, but there are many add ons that you can get to get you to your destination even quicker. You can get monster truck tires, turbo jets and buzz saws just to name a few. I highly recommend this game because of its high level of fun.
This game sucks it desirves a negative star     On: 2002-02-14

This game looks like it could be on the original playstation its
got a stupid plot and is going to be a waste of money.

Copyright TheGameCube.com © 2001-2007 All Rights Reserved -- powered by hoZt.com