GameCube games systems
Home  Products  Reviews  About  Contact 


Pokemon XD: Gale of Darkness with Custom GameCube Skin
Average Rating: 4.0     Total Reviews: 12
More Information

Surprised     On: 2008-01-05

I was actually surprised by this game. I had never gotten into any of the Pokemon games that came out, so when my husband said he wanted to get this game and try it (based on a good review by a friend) I was a little wary that it would be a slow game to get into like the others, and not have enough action for my husband. But we ended up getting it anyway.

He loved it! He sat there for hours at a time on his days off and played. I was actually very surprised at the amount of time that he spent paying at it at once. The game was beaten quickly and there were no complaints about it from my husband, who like me, didnt really like the originals either.

Based on how much my video game addicted husband liked this game, I would say its a good game buy, especially for a person who likes the other Pokemon games.
Game is not good! after all I hate pokemon.................................
by: Anonymous    On: 2006-02-22

This game is the worst game I have ever seen the graphics are ok but not what I expect. I hate pokemon. Lets say it we hate pokemon!
I loved it yet I also hated it.     On: 2005-11-14

My mom said, "Well you like pokemon?" Thats too bad i wanted you to have a life."
Just one word F-U-N!!!
by: Anonymous    On: 2005-11-09

I am not a Pokemon fan at all. I got this game because it came in a bundlepack with the gamecube. I played it. Yes I a 22 year old played PokemanXD Gale of Darkness and I enjoyed it. It is actually quite addicting and fun. The graphics are great load times really arent anything at all unlike the PS2 ( really do hate that thing ). There are so many different Pokemon and some actually are fierce looking not some cutesy cartoony wimpy looking pokemon. I really cant see nothing wrong with this game. However voice overs would have been nice. Only one word to describe this game fun.
great for anyone
by: Anonymous    On: 2005-11-06

i am a girl and i hate pokemon! when i went to my cousins house we played his gamecube (which i also have) and he begged me to play his pokemon game! it is so fun! the graphics are beyond good and the pokemons are amazing! first you have to name the guy and no you cant be a girl! and after you get tasks like find your sister and get to unlock other places! the very first thing is a battle you do! and it dosnt matter if you lose(i lost) and than there is this guy you can battle and i won! its so fun even if your a girl but there is way too much talking so limits the time you have to play! i will get one for myself! you wont regret this game!
helping kid...     On: 2005-10-23

its not coming out for the ps2 or gba. dont waste your money on a ps2...better to get a sweet nintendo ds (its crushing the useless overexpensive sony psp (Piece of Shizzzzzt Portable)) or save your money for a xbox 360. the ps2 isnt even that great anyway, its a dud hardware-wise and it just doesnt have many great exclusive games. if you want to buy just one of the current gen consoles id get an xbox hands-down. its got ninja gaiden, jade empire, knights of the old republic, and halo as well as other great exclusive games. the gamecube has pokemon, paper mario, tales of symphonia, and tons of other exclusives (like resident evil) that make even it better than the ps2 (and its a lot cheaper). the ps2 has been a monumental disappointment compared to its predecessor the ps1 which ruled.
pokemon xd is a great game.
best game ver but i have a quastion! please help me     On: 2005-10-16

i am a big pokemon fan and for christmas i want a PS2! but i really want this game. is it coming out for ps2 or even gameboy advanced. if you know please help me! other than that this game rocks!!! write your tital as "helping kid"
best game ver but i have a quastion! please help me     On: 2005-10-15

i am a big pokemon fan and for christmas i want a PS2! but i really want this game. is it coming out for ps2 or even gameboy advanced. if you know please help me! other than that this game rocks!!! write your tital as "helping kid"
Everything Pokemon Colosseum Should Have Been     On: 2005-10-14

I had fun with Pokemon Colosseum, it was an interesting departure and fun to take the pokemon 3D and into an RPG format. This game really is everything Colosseum should have been but wasnt.

STORY

Overall the story is more deep, its still rather kid friendly, so please understand that it means theres more to it, more involved and much more to do and places to go. The last game felt like you were just getting into it when it ended. The characters seem to be a bit more flushed out too, though it still has that pokemon tongue in cheek feel to it.

GRAPHICS

This once again is a huge improvement, the last games pokemons shadows were pixelated which by this days graphics is inexcusable. This time the graphics are smoother, more detailed, even the pokemon attacks seem more brilliant and thought out. The fire, water, electric and ground attacks look really nice, makes it much more fun when your pokemon does an ember or hydro attack. Also at Dr. Kaminkos house there are nice lightning effects, its a small thing I know, but in the game world those are the things that take an average game and make it great.

GAMEPLAY

The game play is fairly standard to any pokemon game, console or handheld, but this I think falls into the area, if it aint broke, dont fix it theory. Subdue badguys, save helpless pokemon, be a new hero. The fact now that you can save anywhere is a big plus, I hated how I had to backtrack to a save point in the last game, took forever especially in the caves. Also the purification comes along a lot earlier in this version and is much more user-friendly.

POKEMON

Now this is where it all comes down to it. If a game like this doesnt tons of available pokemon it will be a failure. It definately hurt Pokemon Colosseum in that it only really had about 50 available pokemon in it. This one has around 100 available pokemon, not to mention new moves for certain pokemon that have previously unavailable. Plus you can also catch a few wild pokemon in this game which is a nice thing. My only issue is that they should have allowed for more catchable wild pokemon, they have almost all in the game, attacks included, so its not like they dont have them already programed in. Also, the ability to earn badges and ribbons would have been nice.

Overall the game is a drastic improvement to Colosseum, its fun, playful and nice to see the game in all its 3D glory. If you love pokemon this is definately a keeper, and with this version you get the exclusive GameCube Skin.

For more information on this game, go to this adress....
by: Anonymous    On: 2005-10-10

Go to this page for a full walkthrough, list of shadow pokemon and their trainers, and everything you can think up about this game. Full information.

(...)

(use the right-hand toolbar for more information on different areas of the game, and the left toolbar on the page for more information on any other pokemon game ever released.
Similar .. but BETTER than Colosseum     On: 2005-10-09

A fun trip back to the land of Orre with some familiar faces and some new friends. If you liked Colosseum, you will find the upgrades in this game to be a godsend. I still dont enjoy the GameCube versions as much as the GBA ones, but everything that I WISHED I could do in Colosseum can be done in XD.

The main differences are as follows:

1. What we all wished for has happened .. you can SAVE the game anywhere, anytime, as often as you like! This was by far the most annoying thing that I discovered when I first bought Colosseum. I was so used to saving my game before any major battle, or before trying to catch a "one-shot-only" Pokemon. With XD, you no longer have to seek out a PokeCenter or a computer to save the game. This makes all the difference in the world. I am no longer "afraid" of whats lurking around the corner because I can always start over if I wasnt ready for what was lurking in the darkness! LOL

2. You can catch WILD POKEMON in XD. Another thing that I could never get used to in Colosseum. In XD you are shown three "Poke Spots" where you leave treats (bait) for wild Pokemon. You have a Pokemon-detector that goes off if any wild Pokemon are munching your treats at a Poke Spot. Again, with the new "save feature", you can save the game and THEN go hunting. If you kill the wild Pokemon by accident, just restart.

3. There is a cool new Purification machine so you can purify up to NINE pokemon at the same time. Very much a time saver. No more dragging around Pokemon that you never intend to use just to open up their hearts.

4. New story line. Some old towns, some new towns but an interesting storyline throughout.

5. Graphics. Graphics are noticibly better in XD.

6. Shadow Moves. Instead of one shadow move, all shadow pokemon automatically come with two. There are many possible shadow moves .. all with different strengths and effects. Much more interesting.

7. New Pokemon. There are (at least) two new Pokemon. You cant catch them, but I think their appearance foreshadows a new batch of Pokemon which will probably be available in the next version of the game.

All in all, much better than Colosseum. Just adding a few simple changes (most notably the "save feature") brings a whole new enjoyment to an older game. Pokemaniacs will not be disappointed with this purchase.

NOTE: As I have suggested in my other reviews, buy the NINTENDO POWER guide instead of the Prima guide. MUCH more complete.
For more information on this game, go to this adress....     On: 2005-10-09

Go to this page for a full walkthrough, list of shadow pokemon and their trainers, and everything you can think up about this game. Full information.

(...)

(use the right-hand toolbar for more information on different areas of the game, and the left toolbar on the page for more information on any other pokemon game ever released.
THE BEST POKEMON GAME IN THE WORLD!!!     On: 2005-10-03

This is the ULTIMATE pokemon game in the universe!!! it has killer graphics, awesome gameplay and so much more!!!

Using Shadow Pokemon, an evil organization called the CIPHER has unleashed a sinister plot to take over the world. You start off with your fist pokemon: Eevee, you must fight against terrible foes and race against time to snag and purify shadow pokemon and turn them back to normal before CIPHER takes over the world, but wait, there is one powerful Shadow Pokemon. The one that is almost impossible to purify. Unravel the mystery of Shadow Lugia TODAY!!! Buy this game NOW!!!
Best Pokemon Game Ever!!!!!     On: 2005-09-29

To make this review short and sweet, Ill just get to the point. Buy this game! I dont care if you dont like pokemon, just buy it right now. I guarrantee you that youll love pokemon after you play this game. Yes, its that good. If you dont order this game right now, you are so totally going to regret it later in life.

Copyright TheGameCube.com © 2001-2009 All Rights Reserved -- powered by hoZt.com