GameCube games systems
Home  Products  Reviews  About  Contact 


Backyard Baseball

More Information

Backyard Baseball-a novel just kidding!
by: Anonymous    On: 2005-06-11

i've only "rented" the game before but it's really good. And the fact that you can create a player, a whole team if your dedicated enough, plus ten allstars it's just overwhelming! And stop saying it's bad! O.K. maybe the graphics are bad compared to the games nowadays but it's still pretty good. Kids and parents will love it no matter how bad.
a failure
by: Anonymous    On: 2005-01-17

This game is the worst baseball game out there. The controls are weird because if by mistake you're facing 2nd when you want to throw to third you throw it to second and this is very frustrating. The swings are really stupid too. It looks like your hitter did a half swing that turned into a homerun. There for I think backyard is a failure. This is a game for kids 6 and under. This is also a complete waste for baseball fans. So if you are a baseball fan I reccomend MVP baseball 2004.
P.S. Don't even think of renting it.
Fantastic game for kids and adults
by: goekeja    On: 2004-04-27

My 5 year old son is addicted to this game! We got a Gamecube for Christmas and my son has really enjoyed games such as Mario Double Dash but he is also a big fan of baseball so we picked this game up. We started off with batting practice to get the hang of it and after a day or two he migrated into game mode and started playing the computer. He has mananged to figure out many of the various features of the game without my help and is now regularly beating the computer. He has learned which players are best and picks his team accordingly. He has also learned a lot about the workings of baseball just by playing this game. We went to a KC Royals game the other night and he was mesmerized-watching the play like never before. This game has been a real hit in our household!
Fantastic game for kids and adults
by: Anonymous    On: 2004-04-27

My 5 year old son is addicted to this game! We got a Gamecube for Christmas and my son has really enjoyed games such as Mario Double Dash but he is also a big fan of baseball so we picked this game up. We started off with batting practice to get the hang of it and after a day or two he migrated into game mode and started playing the computer. He has mananged to figure out many of the various features of the game without my help and is now regularly beating the computer. He has learned which players are best and picks his team accordingly. He has also learned a lot about the workings of baseball just by playing this game. We went to a KC Royals game the other night and he was mesmerized-watching the play like never before. This game has been a real hit in our household!
Good for kids 12 and younger
by: Anonymous    On: 2004-02-05

This game takes some getting used to. When I first played it, I didn't score a run until the 9th inning, and even then Barry Bonds had to hit a home run with one on. After a while you get used to it. The graphics are ok but on the replay after a home run, the ball disappears after going over the fence. If you change the difficulty level from allstar to pro or rookie, the number of innings changes from nine innings to six and if you have rookie with nine innings of play and change it to pro, same thing. But if you have changed the difficulty level and you're in the fifth inning, simply change it to allstar until the top of the 7th. Other than that, 5 to 12-year-olds should love this game.
Holy Cow! GREAT!!!!!!!
by: Anonymous    On: 2003-12-09

I have enjoyed HE (Humongous Entertainment) On my computer And It's fun for All ages. All My friends have been talking about it so I decided to get it. With Pete " Speedy" Wheeler and Pablo "Secret Weapon" Sanchez and the rest of the crew. It also includes 10 MLB players (Barry Bonds, Sammy Sosa, Randy Johnson, Pedro Martinez etc.
Pete Wheeler on the Big Screen!
by: shawnuff    On: 2003-11-20

My child and I have long enjoyed Humongous Entertainment's (HE) "Backyard" series on the PC, especially because of the kid players: Speedy Pete Wheeler, good-natured Keisha Phillips, spunky Annie Frazier, and powerful Pablo Sanchez. The usual crew is here, along with 10 actual MLB baseball players (e.g., Barry Bonds, Sammy Sosa, Randy Johnson, Pedro Martinez) playing as kids. (You can also create your own player, distributing attributes such as contact and power).

There are a few differences between the Gamecube version and an earlier one we have for the personal computer. The one negative is the graphics: The characters' faces here have lost some definition and detail and tend to look like Pillsbury doughboys. This really took some getting used to, but eventually we did. There's also no random game mode: Even for a single game you have to go to the trouble of selecting individual players.

However, the Gamecube version has many excellent features. Video baseballers will probably play on a TV monitor (for many families, this is will be larger than the PC monitor), and this enhances the experience and eases eye strain. A major improvement is the ease of fielding compared to the "follow the blue dot" method used on the earlier PC game. As in the PC version, you can play a single game or an entire season, Gamecube also offers a homerun derby mode that is a lot of fun. We really enjoy season mode in which your selected players and team go through a regular season and can advance to the playoffs.The game tracks season statistics (e.g., RBI, HR, ERA, Strikeouts), which, of course, is often important to baseball fans. HE has included several great fields (including an underwater stadium that "unlocks" once you win a few games), and, as usual, you can adjust the game according to your ability. The background noise and commentary add authenticity and humor, and the sound levels can be individually changed as well. Overall, an excellent game.


awesome game!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
by: eliavnl    On: 2003-10-07

this game is amazing. the only thing i'm disappointed with is the fact that there are only 10 of the major players. 10?? come on, they leave out so many great players. my suggestion is to have all the players that were on the AL and NL all star teams of the year it came out and put them in the game, in addition to the made up players. speaking of which, the made up players are great, colorful characters. you can ignore the fact that there are only 10 major league players, 'cause everything else about the game makes up for it. BUY THIS GAME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Excellent game
by: bama81    On: 2003-06-01

My son has played and enjoyed the pc versions of Backyard Baseball for a couple of years. He also plays the All-Star Baseball series, MLB Slugfest and most of the other baseball games around but he still keeps coming back to this old favorite. Updated for Gamecube,the graphics are outstanding and the gameplay is really fun and entertaining .I think children really enjoy seeing their MLB heroes like Derek Jeter, Chipper Jones, Barry Bonds, Sammy Sosa etc. as kids and can really identify with them. This game is best for kids 5-9 but older children (up to maybe 11) will enjoy it also but probably not as much as younger kids. An outstanding game, highly recommended
What if...
by: princedonaldduck    On: 2003-04-02

What if you took Disney and mixed them with the Backyard BunchTM? Well, I wouldn't know but could you imagine if Pablo Sanchez had to face Mickey Mouse? Or Donald Duck faced-off against Pedro Martinez? How's about Chip N Dale going against Ernie Steele? Well, there's no Disney in this game, but overall, it's still about the coolest game of baseball around! That would have been nice to see a "Charmers Team" in this game, Charmers don't get enough attention! There are 9 professional players in the game along with 2 unlockable fields! This review is just an idea, it's not meant to be helpful!
10 Pros as Kids, Your faves are HERE!
by: princedonaldduck    On: 2003-03-05

Don't you wish there was a Disney Sports Baseball? If so, this is the alternative! If not, get outta here! This ain't no Disney Sports wack game, no way, this is the backyard, so close, you don't gotta leave your chair! Now let's see the game's blood, a baseball game plain and simple, right? WRONG! This ain't no 1980's Nintendo 2-D baseball, no... this is 3-D pros as kids, with the "Backyard Bunch" who play some hot baseball with crazy power-ups, Aluminum Power Bat, Under-grounder, Fire Ball and Big Freeze! ...
Who's better with sports? Disney, SEGA, or "HE" & "IG"?
by: jpicar9056    On: 2003-03-04

Let's have a look-C:
Disney: Fun yet wierd, Best Character: Donald/Max (Can't Choose!)
SEGA: Real to the physics: B. C.: Sammy Sosa (He's Awsome!)
Humongous Entertainment: Real fun: B. C.: The Kahn's (ROCKIN'!)
The best is HE: Backyard Baseball is your fave kids on a polygonal 3-D diamond, playing baseball, SWEET SMELL O' PINE TAR!
Crack of the bat, roar of the crowd, the winning of the Backyard World SeriesTM, The dumping of the bucket, okay wrong sport, but still, 3-D Kids, 3-D Ball, 3-D EVERYTHING!

Copyright TheGameCube.com © 2001-2006 All Rights Reserved -- powered by hoZt.com