GameCube games systems
Home  Products  Reviews  About  Contact 


Chibi Robo
Manufacturer: Nintendo      
More Information

I have no idea why I loved this game so much     On: 2006-10-20

Seriously though, this is one of the best games released towards the end of the GC's lifespan. I can't really explain why I liked it so much. You are a cute little (some may say Chibi) robot and you are primarily cleaning up after and solving the problems your owners. There is a fairly large house to explore and finding items you can use is half the fun.
Even after I got the items and helped the characters through their issues, I still continued playing.
This is a simplistic game that is probably aimed at a much younger audience, but I still enjoyed Chibi's adorable little adventure.
Finally an RPG for all ages!
by: colleenieweenie    On: 2006-08-23

I got Chibi Robo on the day that it came out and so I have had plenty of time to play it. Chibi Robo is a small robot given to a little girl, Jenny, on her birthday. The family that receives little Chibi is in some financial trouble and needs Chibi to help around the house and fix things to "spread the happiness." Basically, the main point is to solve the family's problems and make them happy. On the way, aside from the main story, you will have other side missions, sometimes with toys from around the house (that come alive at night).

This game, tho it looks like a child's game, can entertain anyone! At 20 years old, I enjoy this game very much and tho it is not too challenging, it is also not all that easy. There is no violence or gore whatsoever in this game, and it would be perfect for a child. Even if they cannot figure out some of the missions and what their objectives are, they can always walk cute little Chibi Robo around the house and clean up after the family (picking up trash, scrubbing footprints, etc.)

I like this game a lot, Chibi Robo is the cutest little hero you have ever seen and the game is different than any other I have ever played! Very original.
Electricfyingly fun ... Plug in your GameCube into Adventure
by: redxdragon69    On: 2006-05-24

Beside the price being a little more than I expected the game is A LOT of fun. A little repetitive and annoying that you gotta keep charging so soon and the outlets are a little far distance. But overall this game is entertaining and keeps me occupied for hours at a time. I've heard negative reviews about this game in Nintendo Magazine that it's childish ... boring ... and not worth your dollar. I do agree the price is a little high maybe $29.99 but $49.99 ? I mean not even the classic Mario games are worth that much. I think this is probably the most expensive Gamecube Game out being it's all about the PS2 and XBox360 now. But if you do decide to indulge yourself and just get it. You won't be too disappointed. I saw rent it first from a Blockbuster or something then if you wanna continue playing it. GO FOR IT and buy it.
chibi-robo rocks
by: Anonymous    On: 2006-03-29

chibi-robo is a very fun game it may sound dum at first but once you try it you'll like it!You can buy some cool stuff and team up with talking toys.One of the toys in Drake Redcast he will give you a Drake Redcast costume when you see the tv go on by it's self go into the blury part and then on top of the tv will be Drake Redcast himself getting ready for patroll.you will find other robots along the way like Giga-robo who is in the basment witch the stairs are in the foyer witch is near the carpet.if you go in the day time you will need a mug or else you will die from these egg guys guns.it is very very fun beleve me I swear it is so much fun you have to play it to beleve me. I'm telling you you have to try it or your missing out.
I love the Robot
by: k8shere    On: 2006-03-18

I like cute. This game is cute and fairly addictive at the same time.

Chibi is a robot given to young Jenny (aka frog girl) for her birthday. Along the way you are the robot with various quests throughout the house at the same time you have to gain happiness points and become a super-de-duper robot. (who also cleans house and shops...cool)

I started playing last night and had a hard time stopping. Its fun to look at things from a small perspective. My 8 and 12 year old think I am being a little out there with this game but I find it fun.
Delightful, fun game with no laser blasters or mayhem
by: idontwantanickname1    On: 2006-02-26

Really an endearing little game, the robot is adorable and there's plenty of play value wandering around exploring the robot's new home and taking care of its new family.

A game like this, with no Star War tie-ins or laser blasting mayhem is really something to be cherished when you've got a couple of young kids at home. Watching them play together to solve the puzzles in the game rather than trying to virtually slaughter one another is a real treat.

Excellent graphics, clever gameplay -- this game is a good example of why Nintendo is the best value of the three big consoles -- THEIR TITLES ARE BETTER, more original, more inventive, with greater long-term play value.

Find a copy of this game TODAY! It's a good one!!
Surprising!
by: Anonymous    On: 2006-02-20

I thought this game would be too simple and just sort of dumb....but it's the funnest game I've played in a long time. It's got a big story line, with side quests and challenges make it a blast!
LITTLE ROBOT, BUT NOT JUST FOR LITTLE KIDS
by: Anonymous    On: 2006-02-11

CHIBI-ROBO IS A GAME WHERE THE MAIN OBJECTIVE IS TO MAKE THE SANDERSON FAMILY HAPPY, BY SCRUBBING STAINS, THROWING AWAY GARBAGE, AND PLANTING SEEDS, AMONG OTHER THINGS

THE GAME STARTS OFF IN THE LIVING ROOM, DURING JENNY'S BIRTHDAY.(JENNY IS THE DAUGHTER WHO THINKS SHE IS A FROG AND ONLY SPEAKS IN RIBBITS). MONEY IS KINDA TIGHT, SO WHEN MR. SANDERSON PULLS OUT A CHIBI-HOUSE WITH CHEEBO INSIDE, THE WHOLE FAMILY IS SURPRISED.( MRS. SANDERSON IS A BIT ANNOYED FOR A WHILE). YOU PROVE THAT YOU WERE WORTH THE MOOLAH( GAMES CURRENCY) BY HELPING AROUND THE HOUSE AND UNCOVERING MYSTERIES.

SO FAR I HAVE PLAYED 6 HOURS INTO THE GAME AND I AM STILL ADDICTED. UNCOVERING MYSTERIES, HELPING THE FAMILY AS WELL AS THE FREE-RANGERS AND THE TOYS IS GREAT. I HAVE ALMOST ALL OF THE GEAR SO FAR EXCEPT THE RADAR, BUT IT IS STILL A CHALLENGING GAME; OPENING DRAWERS TO GET HIGH UP ON PLACES, CLIMBING LAMP CORDS AND SHOELACES, AND USING UTILIBOTS.

DONT LET THE RATING TURN YOU AWAY; E+10 IS THE ESRB RATING, SO AS A 14 YEAR OLD WHEN I PURCHUSED THE GAME A SALES EMPLOYEE SAID, "WHY THAT ONE, ITS A KIDS GAME." ITS TRUE, YOU ARE BLOWING PEOPLES HEADS OFF, BUT THIS GAME IS ANYTHING BUT CHILDISH.

YOU MUST BUY THIS GAME. PASSING IT UP WOULD BE A HUGE MISTAKE...
5 STARS!!!!!!
Chibi-Robo, Plug into Adventure!
by: videogamemaster16    On: 2006-02-08

WARNING: SOME SPOILERS
Intro:

The game starts out kinda slow. With limited things to do and limited battery life. (only 80)
The good part is it is very easy to get more battery upgrades by collecting happy-points.
There is a toothbrush you can pick up not long after you start the game, which is for cleaning stains on the floor.

Every stain cleaned gives you 2 happy-points. Not to mention when you've cleaned a certain amount of stains you get a point bonus, usually 20+. You can also pick up scrap paper, candy wrappers, cookie crumbs, etc. By throwing these in the garbage can in the living room (I haven't been able to locate another one yet) you get even more points, not to mention Moolah, the games currency. Using Moolah, Chibi can buy things from the Chibi-PC in the Chibi House (located in the living room).
I'll tell you the coolest thing I've found so far (which I've bought) is the Chibi-Blaster.
Using it Chibi can blow through cracks in the walls to reach new areas and blast through spider-webs.
Most importantly, you use it to fight the little robotic spiders that appear randomly. Known as Spydorz.
However, you don't need to worry, they appear only after you've purchased the Blaster.

Defeating them leaves behind scrap metal which you can use to build Utilibots.
One is a latter which is very useful for reaching high places. Another is a Warp. Very handy for moving up and down the stairs in the foyer. (Which takes forever to do on foot.)
And yet another is an extendable bridge. A little bridge that unfolds that can reach far away places you couldn't get to other wise.
Exploring in the game is very fun. The games day/night cycle lets you explore during the day or the dead of night. Making even old areas seem different. Initially, you only have 5 minutes before the day or night ends and you have to return to your Chibi-House. However, from your handy Chibi-PC (once again located in the Chibi-House) you can purchase extensions. The first allows you to take 10 minutes instead of just five. The third, 15. It doesn't sound like much, but it makes a big difference when exploring.
Chibi can climb a number of things in the house as well as interact with other things. (Such as speaking to the toys that come alive at night.)
As mentioned early in the review, the battery can be annoying. Not enough to make the game repitive or anything, but you really need to keep an eye on your battery meter! Don't worry though, again as mentioned before the upgrades are fairly easy to get. I've went from 80.0 power to 160.0 since yesterday.
(The upgrades are in increments of 20).
Falling from high places though can spell Chibi-Robo's end. The end of his battery that is. Falling drains battery power significantly. If you take a fall and it doesn't drain Chibi completey, get to a plug-in, quick! It's not a catostrophe if he does die. It can be annoying. You have to start back from the Chibi-House plus you get Moolah taken away.
However, you don't need to worry about falls if you utilize one of Chibi-Robo's most important tools.
The Chibi-Copter. After equiping, hop off a high place to glide gently and safely down. You can also hover horozontily for a few seconds by holding A.

Review:

Graphics: 9.0
The game's visuals are awesome. From the details in the house to Chibi himself, the graphics won't dissapoint!

Sound: 9.5
As were the graphics, the sound is amazing. Always there, but never annoying.
It's very creative how they made a different tune play depending on what Chibi-Robo's doing.

Gameplay: 8.5
The gameplay is excellent. I don't know about the replay value though. Which is why I only gave it 8.5.
I would think I would want to play it again though.

Overall: 9.8
As close to excellence as you can get Chib-Robo is a game that I will remember and play for a long time.
Don't pass this one up.

Copyright TheGameCube.com © 2001-2006 All Rights Reserved -- powered by hoZt.com