GameCube games systems
Home  Products  Reviews  About  Contact 


Cube Link Advanced

More Information

GBA to Game Cube "link cable" features and gameplay
by: jsvjrs    On: 2002-02-09

It's to my understanding that, as of this writing, there are only 2 games on the market that take advantage of the features available with the use of this cable: "Sonic Adventure 2: Battle" and "Animal Forest" (Japanese-only). But, that's just the beginning!

"Sonic Adventure 2: Battle":
If you've played Dreamcast's "Sonic Adventure" or "Sonic Adventure 2", then you're already enamoured with the beloved little critters called "Chaos" (pronounced "ch" as in "chocolate"). With Game Cube's version, "Sonic Adventure 2: Battle", just remove your Game Cube controller from it's port, plug one end of this "Cube Link Advanced" cable into it, and connect your GBA to the other end. You can then transfer Chaos from your Game Cube's "Sonic Adventure 2: Battle" game to your GBA.

Now, I know what you're thinking: "Oh, I could do the same thing with the Dreamcast VMU. I transferred my Chao from my 'Sonic' game to my VMU, then took it for a 'walk' and played games with it." But, no! A Chao on a Dreamcast VMU doesn't come anywhere close to a Chao displayed in 32bit color on your GBA. And you'll be able to play REAL games with your Chao, like "Chao Karate" and "Chao Racing", just to name a few!

"Animal Forest" (Japanese-only at this time):
Even though I own a Japanese-import Game Cube, I have yet to get my hands on this game. Therefore, I can't tell you first-hand about what transfers to the GBA and it's gameplay thereafter. However, it looks like it'll be very similar to what I described above with the Chaos.

Another function of this "GBA-to-Game Cube" cable is that it will allow the use of a GBA as a Game Cube controller (with compatible games only). For instance, you'll be able to plan "secret" football plays on your GBA, then execute them in the Game Cube game so that your opponent won't be able to see them coming!


GBA to Game Cube "link cable" features and gameplay
by: Anonymous    On: 2002-02-09

It's to my understanding that, as of this writing, there are only 2 games on the market that take advantage of the features available with the use of this cable: "Sonic Adventure 2: Battle" and "Animal Forest" (Japanese-only). But, that's just the beginning!

"Sonic Adventure 2: Battle":
If you've played Dreamcast's "Sonic Adventure" or "Sonic Adventure 2", then you're already enamoured with the beloved little critters called "Chaos" (pronounced "ch" as in "chocolate"). With Game Cube's version, "Sonic Adventure 2: Battle", just remove your Game Cube controller from it's port, plug one end of this "Cube Link Advanced" cable into it, and connect your GBA to the other end. You can then transfer Chaos from your Game Cube's "Sonic Adventure 2: Battle" game to your GBA.

Now, I know what you're thinking: "Oh, I could do the same thing with the Dreamcast VMU. I transferred my Chao from my 'Sonic' game to my VMU, then took it for a 'walk' and played games with it." But, no! A Chao on a Dreamcast VMU doesn't come anywhere close to a Chao displayed in 32bit color on your GBA. And you'll be able to play REAL games with your Chao, like "Chao Karate" and "Chao Racing", just to name a few!

"Animal Forest" (Japanese-only at this time):
Even though I own a Japanese-import Game Cube, I have yet to get my hands on this game. Therefore, I can't tell you first-hand about what transfers to the GBA and it's gameplay thereafter. However, it looks like it'll be very similar to what I described above with the Chaos.

Another function of this "GBA-to-Game Cube" cable is that it will allow the use of a GBA as a Game Cube controller (with compatible games only). For instance, you'll be able to plan "secret" football plays on your GBA, then execute them in the Game Cube game so that your opponent won't be able to see them coming!


Totally Amazing
by: Anonymous    On: 2002-02-08

Many months ago, my friend had a GameBoy Advance and I thought it was pretty dull. It was just another Gameboy handheld with nothing new. Then I realized. This small handheld had the same amount of bits as PS1!!! I never stopped to look at the graphics- which were amazing. He had F-Zero and Rampage Puzzle Attack, both great games, and I couldn't stop playing it when he let me borrow it.

A few days later, I purchased one with F-Zero Maximum Velocity. I couldn't sleep knowing I had it. Every second I would be playing it. It was the best handheld I ever had (I have had GameBoy, GameBoy Color, Gamegear, and NeoGeo). I had tons of hours of fun with it.

2 months later I went to Circuit City and in the video game section they had three competing consoles- PS2, Gamecube, and Xbox. It was the first time i heard of Gamecube and Xbox and since most of my friends had PS2, I had decided to get one of the others. I took home a convenient mini-disc the same size as a Gamecube game disc and put it in my computer. It had previews of many games the Gamecube would be launching.

This started my research of which one i should buy. I heard different opinions about both and most liked Gamecube. Plus it was 100 bucks cheaper which really helped my decision. I myself have always been promoting Nintendo. I have Nintendo, Super Nintendo, Nintendo 64, and what would be a great add to the collection would be the GameCube!!!

A few days after my decision, my friend told me that Gameboy Advance could hook up to Gamecube, which really surprised me. I thought that would be awesome. The second after Christmas I became a Gamecube fanatic, and an anti-Xbox. Everything about Xbox makes me shudder. I don't even want to start about all the crappy features and all this Megahertz stuff. WHO CARES IF IT HAS A HARD DRIVE!!! All anyone cares about is the games!!! And the Gamecube games are excellent. I have done some research about what games that I would look foward to. Then i saw Kirby's Tilt and Tumble 2!! I downloaded a video about it and that great Shigeru guy was displaying how it worked. GBA was hooked up to the Gamecube and used as a controller to tilt Kriby around. This would be just like the Gameboy's classic but in a mixture of 128-bit and 32-bit graphics. Then I learned about the many games that would take advantage of this cable. Sonic was one of them. The first one I heard about was Animal Forest+, which is a sequel to the Japanese's N64 version. This looks like a great game.

When I saw a picture of this cable here, I was stunned. I thought: Now it's official. There is certainly gonna be all the great features Nintendo has promised before. The Wavebird controller. And the Internet connections. When I saw this I new i had to make a review. This cable is incredibly spectacular and a must-have if you have Gamecube and GBA. If I took the time to write this whole thing just for a 10 dollar cable that can do great things, you know it's good.


i can t wait
by: Anonymous    On: 2002-01-23

i hav been goin to the video game store evry day to c if this is out, its gonna b great and i cant wait!
This is the greatest invention invented in the galaxy yet!!
by: yoniatar5    On: 2002-01-01

"Oh mother!! lets run to get the GBA I was talking about since forever." I said the day the GBA came out."Its the best handheld ever and we can Not get to the store to late!!"And on November 18, 2001, I said to my mom at 9 in the morning While playing my GBA,:"Lets go get the Gamecube Ive been talking about all these years." You couldnt Imagine how happy I was.When I heard about this cable to put them yogether, I went Crazy!! I mean scraming so loudly that the car alarms all over turned off.I mean the best handheld,"Mini SNES"I like to call it,combined with the greatest"smallest" console created in the galaxy so far!! The greates team ever. I am dreaming about the day I will own one of these,counting down the days till i get one. It really will do WONDERS. WONDERS I TELL YOU . LIKE NO ONE COULD,OR WILL EVER EVEN IMAGINE UNTILL THEY SEE,HEAR AND FEEL IT. BECAUSE ONE OR EVEN 2 SENSES WONT MAKE YOU BELIVE. ESPECIALY IF YOU ARE A VIDEO GAME FREAK SUCH AS ME!!!!
Great!
by: stevie_guy9    On: 2001-11-30

I research Video Games and I have a Web Site all about Video Games so I know what I am talking about. This is what it can do: "On specially designed games, the GBA handheld video game
system can be connected directly to the GCN system for use as an additional game screen and/or controller." Check out my site at: "http://www.stevieguy9.cjb.net".
COOL
by: Anonymous    On: 2001-11-19

This is perfect for my new gamecube i bought from you guys my gosh i think this will keep my busy on road trips for a while
What it is.....
by: snojoe2001    On: 2001-11-18

Well, some games on GameCube will be able to use the Game Boy Advance as an extra controller and TV screen, but the game must be compatible in order to do it. This cable is the cable you need to hook-up the GBA to the GCN (GameCube).
THIS RULES!!!!
by: westonhicks    On: 2001-11-16

Think about it. Arent you tired of your friends looking at all the pays you choose in a sports game, or trying to see which pitch you are going to throw in games like All Star Baseball? Well, with the new cable you can choose all of these things without your friends seeing what you chose. For 10 bucks, it is a great buy. Plus, you can you use your Game Boy Advance as a controller

Copyright TheGameCube.com © 2001-2006 All Rights Reserved -- powered by hoZt.com