GameCube games systems
Home  Products  Reviews  About  Contact 


Dragon Ball Z: Budokai
Manufacturer: Atari      
More Information

Dargon Ball Z
by: tinytimm    On: 2006-04-21

This is actually a pretty fun game(surprise!). The graphics are just OK, but the game itself is pretty cool. You have an option of doing story mode or Vs. Battle. In story mode, obviously you go through a story. The Vs. mode kind of explains itself too. You start out with a number of characters, and as you progress through the game, you gain new abilities and new characters for Vs. mode. Using different combinations moves create other moves(different for different characters). Each character having a second outfit too. This is a pretty fun game. But I give it only three stars because there are several newer games in this series(lol).
Great but to short
by: Anonymous    On: 2005-12-04

I'll start with the good parts, the graphics are good.It follows the tv series well.I like how it is just fighting.that is the end of the good things.the thing that i hate the most is it is so short.it mly took me 2 days to finish it.also they don't let you fight everyone in the ginu force or dr.gero.but over all its a great game but to short.
This game is good
by: Anonymous    On: 2004-11-28

I been waiting for a good dragonballz game for a while and finally i got one. it has at least 20 characters and the ginyu force. well at least recoome and captain ginyu. this game is a must have. trust me its worth the money!

Whats this only 26 reviews
by: Anonymous    On: 2004-10-28

Shame on you people, dbz is the best game ever and you need to give it more reviews than this. This time they have taken dbz to the max with 3-d graphics characters and everything else. You can unlock freza those not so tough androids, teen gohan trunks, hercule (that retart) and everyone else. But all of thier fighting moves are the same exept yamcha his is the wolf fighting style. Also they don't have super sayain 3, but this game is fun overall and it is very easy. but the ps2 version is better. Dbz you could have done better.
Best dragon ball z episodes ever
by: Anonymous    On: 2004-09-28

I got to admit, this is the best game ever!!!!!! The graphics are 3-d and anyone who thinks this game is jake is a moron. they have great attacks, like have you seen cells spirit bomb, it looks like he's holding the sun and when he throws it, it destroyes everything making a crater. and it has a unique story mode, plus with hercule (that dork) he's scared of anything. plus with those not so tough androids, trust me i beat then all on very hard. and you can unlock teen gohan adult gohan future trunks, which i have, etc. Plus i like how they use the surroundings, when you send them flying they go through rocks smash things or just fly to another arena when you use a strong attack, also here is a tip for those of you who don't know, you can activate flash attack when you use your super attack and when your opponent uses thier super attack at the same time and to fly, you have to knack your opponent in the air. Overall this game is great and i gave it 5 stars> Thats all for now, chow
Prepare for dbz to the max!!
by: Anonymous    On: 2004-09-23

This has dbz to the max baby! I got this the day it came out and it is still in my "play pile" not in "the closet of doom"(lol) But really any dbz fan should get this,it does not take long to beat(about 3 hours) but it's a fighting game so it's not supposed to be long. This is a must have for any fighting or dbz fan! You get 23 characters you can collect and trade skills you have (bought, earned). This is a really good game. Bye ^_^
THE BEST DBZ GAME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
by: Anonymous    On: 2004-06-26

this game is good because the graphics are good, the gameplay is fun, the specials are easy to do, and good characters! this is for DBZ fans and people who don't know about it but like fighting games. Fun game,5 stars
Yea! DBZ in da house!
by: Anonymous    On: 2004-05-17

I've had this since the day it came out...and i'm still playing it! It is so fun. It is so much like the show.If your a dbz fan get it! It'll be worth the money. But... remember All games get old even this one just not for a very long time. I got it the day it came out and it's still great! well i gotta go soon but... get it if you are dbz fane if not rent it. If your not a fan don't write a review cause dbs fans don't like non-fan negetive comments. gotta go bye!!
xerqw
Realy!!!! Cool Awsome And Fun Game
by: Anonymous    On: 2004-05-03

I bought this game today and when i played it I was pleased this being my first dragon ball z game I thought was cool.The graphics are great nice music the game was easy to beat thats the part i liked you should get it i promise you you wont be disapointed.

TATS ALL I CAN SAY
just get it.


DBZ watchers only
by: mruschm1    On: 2004-04-21

I bought this game for my 7 year old son, and i found myself soon playing Budokai like any other game we have. For starters, i am a pretty heavy gamer, just ask my wife, and i found this game good for only one reason. It is that my oldest son filled me in on plot and throughly explained things. I like the plot, but that is because i am wierd. From a gaming stand point, man the entire control of movement and speed of getting somewhere stinks. Horriable to actually say that this actually a good fighting game.
something good on the game cube
by: smhicks    On: 2004-03-17

dragon ball z budokai is one of the most fun games i have ever played in my entire life! good graphics, fast paced and non-stop action, and great gameplay makes this a very amazing game to play!!! I mean just the sound of those special moves sounds great! one of the better parts of this game than others is earning money and buying skills or just getting them in the story mode. if you are looking for an amazing fighting game then get this one!!!and if i gave this a percent in greatness i would give it 99%!!!
Fun, but not
by: xavon_wrentaile    On: 2004-01-08

Do you like DBZ? If so you will probably like this game.

Do you like collecting games (like Pokemon or Castlevania: Harmony of Dissonance)? If so you will probably like this game.

But if you answered no to both of those, you probably won't like this game.

As fighting games go, Budokai is well below average. You can't jump, or crouch. Many of the specials are tedious to execute. And all but two of the characters are essentially the same.

Despite all that, as a DBZ fan, I like the game. The characters look and sound great. And though there is no practical difference between Goku's Kamehameha, Vegeta's Gallic Gun, and Freiza's Death Beam, all the specials look like they should.

And you can customize the characters. There are dozens (hundreds?) of capsules. Each character can carry up to seven capsules, and different capsules give the character different powers. So while my Goku might be an energy machine, throwing Kamehameha after Kamehameha; yours could be the ultra physical Super Sayian vareity.

The games modes offer plenty of variety. The Story mode lets you play various parts of the DBZ storyline, or in some cases alternate versions. Vs is Standard, lets you play one fight against the AI or a friend. World Tournament is like the standard mode of most fighters; you face three to five opponents; but if you win you are awarded Zenie (DBZ money) with which to buy capsules. The Skill Shop lets you buy capsule and configure your custom characters.

All in all, it a decent game, and easily one of the best DBZ games.


X-TREME!!!
by: rbrt127    On: 2004-01-06

Before I begin this review, I would like to state my opinions.
1: DBZ fans only. (Otherwise this game would be very hard to understand, and some inconsiderate fools just don't understand creative genius when they see it). 2: If you think this game is too easy, than try medium, hard, or very hard. Try to unlock all characters. 3: Anyone that hates this game is a nincompoop.
Play through the story, enter the tournament, and customize to make the best character ever! Guaranteed to make you laugh your head off, this is also a very funny game. (Like Hercule, what an idiot). Guess what else? Win zenie, watch movies, and beat the living daylights out of anyone who stands in your way. Could life get any better?
(One more thing. You can also enter practice mode to improve your moves and try out attacks. I mean, did you see Trunks's Burning Attack? It practically destroys everything, I mean EVERYTHING!!! Cool).
to easy and gets to boring
by: Anonymous    On: 2003-12-31

this game has amazing graphics but it gets boring when you beat the game and also the story mode was way to easy
I love this game
by: moomskers    On: 2003-12-21

It Is SPECTACULAR!PLZ MAKE 2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,and many more!I rate this game 5 STARS!
I love this game!
by: moomskers    On: 2003-12-21

THIS GAME IS SPECTACULAR!I love it.I hope other people do to.I RATE THIS 5 STARS!
Dragon Ball E-Z
by: kentnielsen    On: 2003-12-16

Dragon Ball Z has seen a strong following, which would merit many to buy this game for the namesake alone. That might be a poor decision. Some of the fighting mechanics, like being thrown in the air and STAYING there, are a nice touch. But there's not enough, and what's present isn't deep. By this I mean: the game's too easy, and requires little intricate skill. As I progressed, however, I noticed that it did take SOME tactic, but it wasn't gratifying. You don't feel like you really beat your opponent, just pushed more buttons than them. It bugs me, also, how the characters are rendered in 3D. Some of them look WAY off from what they should. Budokai is solid enough to appease Dragon Ball Z fans, but as a fighting game, it lacks the excitement and depth that makes a GREAT fighting game.
ok fighting game
by: denisestreet    On: 2003-12-05

this game is ok but i have played better fighting games. i got bored of this game after about a month. you should rent it to see if you like it because i kind of like it.
pretty good game
by: djfookyu1    On: 2003-11-30

i like this game, but the story mode was 2 easy.i beat it in like 1hour and a half.but the advanced tournament was pretty tough.it took mr abut an hour to beat.i also liked the skills the skills u can put on the characters.i give this game a 4/5.
a complanit against another reviewer
by: Anonymous    On: 2003-11-22

I have only one thing to say to the reviewer who said that the american music and voices were bad. THE DBZ AMERICAN MUSIC AND VOICES WILL BE AND WILL ALWAYS BE FOR ALL ETERNITY BETTER THAN THE JAPANESE VOICES AND MUSIC! I mean Goku sounds like Master Roshi with a cold and the Japanese music belongs in a Disco. I mean it would have been cool in the 80's but the music is so weak and Goku has lost his Saya-jin character. That reviewer should shut the hell up and keep his comments to himself because the Japanese episodes are WEAK!
this game rocks
by: Anonymous    On: 2003-11-06

the guy who said he beat it in one day but didnt get all the characters you didnt beat it,,, now this game is the bom you get to be all your fav guys and beat the crap out of your opponents. if you beat the game completly it would tak you at least a month of non-stop play. once again this game is the bom
too easy but fun!
by: Anonymous    On: 2003-11-01

After a long time of waiting, it was finally announced that Budokai was coming on GameCube! I ordered it in July, because it was supposed to come out on the 26th of August but then it was pushed all the way back to October! After I bought it, I beat it in one night. I didn't get every character and all that, but the story mode is way to EASY!!! That's the odd thing about the game, some parts, you just fly through and others, you're stuck on for the rest of your life! After you beat story mode once, you can go to it again and pick which level you want and you can be different people. When you go to the level select type thing, and pick the one where you get to be piccolo and fight nappa, is way too hard! In general, I'd give it a 4/5. It's a fun game, especially tournament, but it's too easy in some parts and too hard, I recommend it.
Cool Game
by: lpmeteora07    On: 2003-10-04

Ok I have played the PS2 verion of budokai, the PS2 1 didn't have the shadows or the light effect, the gamecube 1 has both of them added on. Also the Gamecube version doesnt have cell shading, but the PS2 game, Budokai 2(coming out in december), has cell shading and it also is still 3D, just 2D fighting style. So I would give this game a 5/5. I do think that they shouldve kept the Budokai 2 game like the 1st was, with out the cell shading(the outlines) The gamecube version has improved graphics and everything, a lot better than the PS2 1...So gamers, get ready for the best game to come out.
Okay
by: Anonymous    On: 2003-09-13

gameplay 4/5

graphics 3/5

sound 3/5

stoyline 4/5

all together 7/10


One of the best in Canada.
by: Anonymous    On: 2003-09-13

Right now in canada the only DBZ games are Dragon Ball Z: Legacy of Goku,Dragon Ball Z: Legacy of Goku 2 and Dragon Ball Z: Ultimate Battle 22.So i think the game will be good.But why did they use cel-shape characters.they should have left it 3-D.
Good game
by: jitaroo    On: 2003-09-11

i have it on the ps2 and it is good it has the voice acting form the show and its from saiyan to cell games saga its fun to play two players two
dumb game
by: lord1of1dragons    On: 2003-08-22

Depressing really dragonballz budokai was a failure and disappointment on playstation 2.Friends that bought it said it had a cheesy ending.Come on budokai and ps2 were meant to be.Budokai gets 4 thumbs down.Poor dbz being presented like this.
dbz to da max
by: airmike92    On: 2003-07-14

i would have to say that overall this is the best dbz game ever made. alot of the game boy advanced playstation dbz games were not that great.But this one is not like that it has better boards graphics.Well lets just say it has better everything!
the cooolest dragon ball z game ever
by: ddstergis    On: 2003-07-07

I have played this game before on the playstation 2 and it rules!!!!.If you are a true gamer I highley suggest this game.there are many playable characters in the game but I still should add some more.For example,Garlic jr. wasn't even in the game!!!.And you can only be 2 members of the Ginyu force.And you can only transform into frieza's final form.Also some of the best are so hard to complete.Althogh it is better than the previous dbz games it is still good.I have seen screens for Budokai 2 for the PS2 and I have high hopes for this game.the game looks more cartooney than the origonal and you have a larger choice of characters.And the best part of the game is you can fuse two warriors together.Imagine kid majin buu and cell. Or hercule and Goku[I bet Goku wouldn't be to excited].I hope this review is useful to you

Copyright TheGameCube.com © 2001-2006 All Rights Reserved -- powered by hoZt.com