GameCube games systems
Home  Products  Reviews  About  Contact 


Intec GameCube AV and S-Video Cable
Manufacturer: Intec      
More Information

Piece of junk! Buy the S-Video cable from Nintendo instead
by: jjdjyu    On: 2006-01-04

Picked up this cable from Toys R Us last week and was totally disappointed. I have a 42 inch LCD HD flat panel TV but this cable will give you the screen door effect so games actually looked much worse than the composite video cable that came with the gamecube system. I returned it immediately and ordered the s-video cable from Nintendo store online the next day. Now, I can tell you that I am a happy man! The s-video cable from Nintendo makes graphics sharper and colors more vivid than the standard composite cable. The cost of Nintendo s-video cable is about ten dollars more than Intec, but the difference in the clarity of image is night and day. Btw, I don't recommand getting the Monster cable brand either, because they are way over priced, why pay more if you can get the same quality cable directly from Nintendo and cheaper.
Totally CRAP!
by: Anonymous    On: 2004-01-27

Nintendo S-Video cable for some reason is difficult to obtain in retail stores. Third-party companies(or non-Nintendo companies) make S-Video cable too and I've seen them in many retail stores. So I really wanted to upgrade the standard Gamecube AV cable to S-Video for my new flat screen TV. I went to Gamestop and bought this cable. I was excited, anticipating to see Gamecube's awesome graphics get even better.

BIG surprise and disappointment! The picture quality looks worse than the original Nintendo AV cable, much much much WORSE. The picture quality is very GRAINY, lot of dots, and faded colors. The wires are very thin too, the original Nintendo AV cable is 2-3 times thicker. This cable gets negative 5 stars, -5.

I'm firmly convinced that ALL third-party products are CRAP. I swear I shall never buy another third-party product. These companies should be banned from making products, they waste resources to make crap and rip-off people's money.

KEEP your original Nintendo AV cable, it works 100 times better than other companies' cable. If you're looking for RF, S-video, or Component cable; Buy authentic Nintendo and order them thru Nintendo. Im certainly gonna order OG Nintendo S-Video cable from Nintendo.


Totally CRAP!
by: Anonymous    On: 2004-01-27

Nintendo S-Video cable for some reason is difficult to obtain in retail stores. Third-party companies(or non-Nintendo companies) make S-Video cable too and I've seen them in many retail stores. So I really wanted to upgrade the standard Gamecube AV cable to S-Video for my new flat screen TV. I went to Gamestop and bought this cable. I was excited, anticipating to see Gamecube's awesome graphics get even better.

BIG surprise and disappointment! The picture quality looks worse than the original Nintendo AV cable, much much much WORSE. The picture quality is very GRAINY, lot of dots, and faded colors. The wires are very thin too, the original Nintendo AV cable is 2-3 times thicker. This cable gets negative 5 stars, -5.

I'm firmly convinced that ALL third-party products are CRAP. I swear I shall never buy another third-party product. These companies should be banned from making products, they waste resources to make crap and rip-off people's money.

KEEP your original Nintendo AV cable, it works 100 times better than other companies' cable. If you're looking for RF, S-video, or Component cable; Buy authentic Nintendo and order them thru Nintendo. Im certainly gonna order OG Nintendo S-Video cable from Nintendo.


This cable is horrible
by: holering    On: 2003-11-05

I bought this cable from circuit city cause I was in desperate need for an svideo cable to use on my kv-27fv310 sony wega tv. It looked horrible... When you play Metroid Prime you can easily see dots crawling on the red nintendo logo at the start of the game similar to the ones you see when you use the standard av cables the Gamecube comes with. Throughout the whole game there's crawling dots (especially on alot of blue colored objects like ice) which made me very dissapointed... Later on I bought the component video cable from nintendo's online store for about 35 bucks with shipping and that cable delivers amazing quality. I highly recommend the component cable from nintendo. The Intec S-Video cable is still better than the standard av cables though but as far as s-video goes this cable is horrible (had the same experience with an interact s-video cable for playstation until I bought the official sony one which was way better). Not recommended.
Major improvement in sharpness
by: radhaz4    On: 2003-05-25

This cable replaced the stock GameCube A/V cable. The difference in quality is most noticeable in text (I'm playing Phantasy Star Online). Glowing objects are no longer washed out, and dark areas of the game show detail that was missing with the composite video connection.
If you have S-Video input on your TV, you need this
by: jambubby    On: 2003-03-06

In short, this item is critical to get the most out of your GameCube or N64 if your Television has an S-Video input. While it is true that some people may not care about the difference in video quality that a S-Video connection can deliver, those same people most likely don't play video games. The Nintendo GameCube potentially delivers stunning graphics, and if you invest in that machine, you owe it to yourself not to let your display limit the potential for your enjoyment of those graphics. Of course, if you have digital input, that is better still, but for those of us with only analog input, S-Video leads the way.
Great Picture!
by: g785    On: 2002-08-28

S-Video makes a HUGE difference and normal A/V cant compare. On a system as good as gamecube you'd want the best picture possible and S-Video is the way to go if you don't have an HD-compatible TV with component video.
S-Video makes for a much sharper picture
by: narcout    On: 2002-05-07

I bought one of these last week and the difference was unbelievable. The picture was much sharper and clearer and basically it made the graphics much much better. I don't know how it works with other tv's but on my rear projection set it was awesome. For only ten bucks, I would definitly pick one of these up if you haven't already.
S-Video Cable for Gamecube - No need for this
by: nickname1289    On: 2002-01-03

Everyone told me that S-Video was the way to go. I know it makes your TV picture better (i have seen proof of that), but when i got my game cube i didn't think there was any way it could look any better. I was right. I got the cable because i heard so many great things about S-Video and figured i'd give it a shot. I hooked it up and see no difference at all. I do not see any need for this item and would not bother with it. The cable you get with the cube does the same job.
Comb filters must die!
by: cudabert    On: 2002-01-01

Why would you use S-Video instead of composite? Well, if you have a television from the mid to late 90's, chances are very good you have a little device that you didn't ask for and don't need called a "comb filter" built into it. A comb filter does just what it sounds like - take a comb and wear it in front of your eyes just like a pair of sunglasses. That's what a comb filter does to the display on your television, it turns off every other pixel. Why anyone thought this was a good idea we'll never know - maybe it has something to do with separating the RGB signals on the video line, but it's probably just some marketing executives way to add another item onto a product's "feature" list.

In any case, the comb filter is not connected to the S-Video on your televison. What this means for you is, you'll get a much, much cleaner video signal than you will through composite video.


?
by: Anonymous    On: 2001-12-30

can you use this to hook the gamecube up to a laptop?

Copyright TheGameCube.com © 2001-2006 All Rights Reserved -- powered by hoZt.com