GameCube games systems
Home  Products  Reviews  About  Contact 


Urbz: Sims in the City
Manufacturer: Electronic Arts      
More Information

Deserves an one     On: 2006-09-29

I should have given it an one but there were sleek and sharp graphics. But guess what? This game is so friggin boring. You press some buttons to get money! You don't even have to retrieve anything! How fun! Which ones to click? A B Y X? This game is. C-R-A-P. Poor poor little maxis, making games that we don't like lately. Get a hint and use what we actually want, not your little "urban and stylish" ideas. Sims 2 gamecube was HORRIBLE. Urbz was DEPRESSING. The sims bustin out was BLAH. See? Games that we don't like lately. Poor maxis.

One of the reasons this game S-U-C-K-S is. You just walk around in a city doing nothing except for talking to people to raise your reputation points. And guess what? That is boring. E-X-T-R-E-M-E-L-Y boring. Because it's like interacting with the toilet. You just see some movements and stars. Boredom.
Or you can work. YAY! WHICH BUTTONS TO CLICK?! A B Y X? How fun. More like how D-E-P-R-E-S-S-I-N-G. What happened to you, maxis? Retards. We want C-H-I-L-D-R-E-N and N-E-I-G-H-B-O-R-H-O-O-D-S! And T-W-O S-T-O-R-Y houses! I think Maxis is going to eventually start inventing games where you DON'T get to build the sims at all. Sorry, Maxis. At least it was fun for a while!

And P.S. the spelled out words were for any people from maxis who might see this. Because, Maxis.. You obviously are NOT G-E-T-T-I-N-G it.
It's okay.. For a while.
by: Anonymous    On: 2006-03-22

It's a great game, but when you get everything, you realize that there's nothing to do on it anymore. It's not even fun building realtionships, getting jobs, getting promoted, and winning Drius's penthouse. I RECOMMEND THE SIMS BUSTIN OUT IT IS THE SEXIEST GAMMA EVA
Urbz:Sims In the City
by: Anonymous    On: 2006-02-04

Well. It's cool. So far I got to Blankwood towers & had almost ALL The districts.But I can't save it :( I need a bigger chip. It takes 107 blocks of memory!But to tell you it's addictive.

HINTS:
Hold The L button to stop time( but you hvae to KEEP holding)!
Hold(and keep holding) the R button to speed UP time!

There are LOTS of cahrectors that you can interact with.

MORE HINTS:
If the thing when you hit A on some1 is red DON'T DO IT!
If it's yellow then IT's OK but you shoyuldn'y unless it's gossip or talking.
If it's green. Then OH YEAH DO IT!
good game
by: Anonymous    On: 2005-12-26

i was waiting for the urbs to come out for a long time. i bought it for ps2 and it was sooo much fun, but after i played it my ps2 stopped working so i rented it for gamecube and it wasn't as exciting, so i suggest if you have a working ps2 get it for that its better.
Kids review
by: Anonymous    On: 2005-12-21

The UBS:Sims in the city is great game!When I first got it I got nowhere,but when I got the hang of it I made it to the top.My sim was the most popular person in the city.This game is great because you get to build your reputation to unlock new places,socail options,get into VIP rooms,do under cover missions,costamize your cellphone and the place you live in.I dont want to say all the things that are in the game,but there are more things to do in the game too.I hope this reveiw was helpful to people that were thinking of buying The UBS:Sims in the city.
My thoughts
by: Anonymous    On: 2005-12-19

This game is a big kick for a sim fan such as my self. I started with the sims 2 last year, got nightlife, university ( which I didnt really like...) and I am most definitly getting open for business when it comes out. I really enjoyed this game. I like it because its really easy to pick up on, and you dont have to spend an hour playing it every day, like the sims. I didnt have any issue with the loading times, and I have no idea why. Personally, I do think maxis could have put a bit more time and carefull thought into this branch of the sim series, but for a console sims game it is pretty good. I give it 4 1/3 stars!
Weights on Either Side
by: Anonymous    On: 2005-11-27

I waited all summer to go to my friend's house for a sleepover so we could play this game all night. Do you know what we did?

We played it until 2 AM.

We didn't finish; we thought we should go to bed. But that just shows how darn addictive this is! Some people say that changing piece by piece for every district is boring, but I think it's fun, especially when you've never been there! We never beat the game, but I had an awesome time at the sleepover. Anyways, here is my scale:

Clothes choices, going to___|___Short gameplay, loading ti-
work with your sims, play-__|___mes, that rapper dude who
ing head-to-head, socials,__|___doesn't like any sort of
regular sims addiction______|___social
----------------------------------------------------------

Hmm... Looks about equal. Well, I'd say to rent it, see if you like it, and if you like it enough, buy it.
Im Luvin it!!!!!!
by: xoskiingurl1331    On: 2005-09-27

to start id like to say that this was the first "sims" game iv ever played amd i really liked it i mean it was a great game and im lookin forward to the Sims 2 game to come out on gamecube in october i think so i reccomend that this is a great game to play
cool!
by: Anonymous    On: 2005-09-26

its a cool game i luv they cloths isIS is my
fav urb ther is sill some sexual stuff but
i know its better
then sims bustin out by far! very far!
bustin out is so essy i beat it in 1hr. 20min.s
but still urbz is 5 S-T-A-R-Z! TO ME.

its a good game
by: Anonymous    On: 2005-09-23

its good and fun. but its short. all my friends play it and all of them like it. i like the fashions and the music also the houses so in my opinion its a cool game!
wow this is such a great game
by: Anonymous    On: 2005-09-23

this game has its cons and pros but mostly pros. it has awsome fashions and i love the you get leave your house! the fashions are a liitle over 13 but i so dont care! the music is really nice and doesnt get annoying! the length is short and that makes it a con but youll have fun while you still can! the gameplay plot and replay is amazing. this is my 3rd time playing it and its so fun! the age dosnt matter because there is no mature sexual themes. maybe a little language and the striped clothes but other than that its great!!!!!!
Somewhat entertaining; rather disappointing
by: aymeedawn    On: 2005-09-13

I'm a 25 year old female gamer who has played and enjoyed all the Sims games, on the PC and console. However, I was very disappointed with Urbz. The music is great and the idea of gaining popularity in each subculture is a fun concept - but it just wasn't as entertaining as it potentially could have been.

There were several "challenges" that merely required a boring repetition of pressing the same buttons over and over. There's very little, if any, strategy involved - especially when compared to the other sims goal-oriented games where some thought is required to solve puzzles and reach goals. The Urbz is mind-numbing at best.

The most disappointing part of the game was its length - I beat it easily in just a few days. And I actually had to look up a walkthrough online to make sure I had, in fact, beaten the game as it ended so suddenly.

I can see how this game would be thrilling for a 7 or 8 year old, but it really isn't extremely entertaining for anyone much older.

As a Sims fan, I really wanted to play this game, despite any bad reviews. I rented it, though, and beat it long before its due date. Unless you are considering this game for a child under ten, I don't think it would be wise to spend this much money on a game that will be beaten in half a week and most likely will never be played again. It is worth renting, as there are some fun elements, but I definitely don't reccomend buying it.

Compared to all other Sims games (and I've played them all), this is the worst. The Sims Bustin' Out and Sims 2 for the PC are spectacular games and are entirely superior to Urbz: Sims in the City.
The Urbz are the pits!
by: Anonymous    On: 2005-09-04

I love The Sims for the pc. I thought that this game would be that experience but better. Boy was I disappointed. The game play was difficult and the loading times were looooonnngg! I just wanted a game that I could create characters in and manipulate but this is not it. Also, be sure to have lots of memory available or you won't be able to save. In conclusion, this game suc-diddily-ucked!
Eeeehhh.........
by: Anonymous    On: 2005-08-18

This game was fun in the beginning. The music is awesome (I wish I could find those songs!) I love the Black Eyed Peas. But the game is.....so.....short. I was upset after I finished it. It's like "THAT'S IT?? That can't be all that's to this game". I seriously think Maxis could have done a better job than that. I wish I was smart at the time to rent the game,but I was so eager to play another sim game. I expected this game to have sims live more urban or street like than that. Like I heard in previous reviews, they don't have the "attitude" like Maxis was talking about. Don't get me wrong though. Go RENT it. It's fun, just don't expect anything after you beat it in about 3 days. And I heard they are trying to improve it by making an Urbz sequel........Hmmmmmmmmm
I love it!!!!
by: Anonymous    On: 2005-06-21

This game is the best!Don't listen to anybody that says different.Though I'll admit, it does make me mad when my dog pees on the floor.I love the way it has some pizzaz.The origanal sims doesn't have enough pizzaz.I like customizing my character in all the neat ways.I would DEFINETLY reccomend buying this game!

Um...not as much as I thought
by: Anonymous    On: 2005-03-20

This game at first was great...but started to get boring.
The Urbz was the first game i bought for my Gamecube. I was satisfied...for 2 days.
I got to Darius's penthouse really fast, and after that theres nothing to do. the goals are the same...in every district!

Pros:
Fun
Cool Clothes
Nice houses
cool furniture
cool people

Cons:
easy
repetitive goals
pets (they peed everywhere)
socials (to confusing)
gets boring
no money (you only buy clothes!)
daruis's "money machine" it didnt even work
rep (deterorates fast)

then..i bought the Sims for gamecube. it was sooooooooooo much better. and so overall the urbz was to much of a strech for the sims creators
Urbz review
by: Anonymous    On: 2005-03-04

Many of you are saying this game is not worth buying because it is short, but I've been playing it straight for 6 days, so I guess Im just slow. Urbz: Sims in the city is actually alot more fun than I expected it to be. My friend and I rented it first when we realized that it is strangely addictive. The only slightly bad part is that it takes a simi-long time to load and loading is frequent. It's also kind of hard to keep up with the Sims' needs, but all of the Sims games are like that. I think its great how you can have piercings and tatoos. I like it the most though, because you can be someone your not and actually become popular (yeah so Im a looser, give me a break)If you're looking for a fun, addicting game, then Urbz is a great choice
It's OK
by: Anonymous    On: 2005-01-09

I recent;y bought this game and because i was stupid enough to not buy a memory card big enough i couldn't turn it off. I basically beat this game in 12 hours al together.

Pros: Has a good 2 player feature
Nice Music
Fun sometimes

Cons: VERY LONG LOADING TIMES
very short game
not a lot of sim to sim interaction
no freeplay
small districts
short storyline
Not a lot of "things to own"

All in all i Don't recommend buying this game. Renting sure!
A great rent, not a great buy.
by: candyce@mailcity.com    On: 2005-01-07

This game is fun and addicting, despite the frequent load times you have to endure, but once you've completed all the goals there's not much interest in it anymore. I would definitely recommend renting because I had a blast playing it, but after two rentals I finished all the goals and was about ready to call it quits. I definitely would not recommend buying it.

Customizing your Urbz with outfits, tattoos, and piercings is fun, but be warned: every time you change districts, you have to change your outfit, and it has to be done piece by piece, reselecting all the colors, etc. This got a little annoying after a while.
Urbz Is Living Big, Huge, Skyscraper Huge!
by: Anonymous    On: 2004-12-30

Urbz was one of my top 5 favorite X-mas presants this year!!!!! Ingnore the negative complaints about this game! I love and you should to! it's so cool because you can earn money quick, graphics are like so real, and all the cool clothing opions and social options. Being able to make your own crew of people is awsome! You also have the hip Black Eyed Peas download. Go and buy this game!!
Shut up Pisoscure
by: flyinbird    On: 2004-11-29

this game is great your sims can have tattos and piercings and tons of other stuff it rocks i bet Pisoscure is green with envy cause she/he cant make a game like this. dont believe everything Pisoscure said it does have its ups and downs but if she/he wants a game with wants get sims 2 it rocks to they have wants and fears they can die of age, retire and have you child inherrit money and your house. so Pisoscure your entitled to a opinion but so am i and i say maxis kicks %$#
cool but doesn't make the cut
by: Anonymous    On: 2004-11-28

This game is cool in the begining but when you leave your apartment in the game you realize the point of the game is just making friends and getting in to clubs. The districts in the game are also very small. The reason I give this game 4 stars is because u can atcually do your job and you can control your sim much better than the other sims games. I suggest u rent the game first.
Not That Bad
by: Anonymous    On: 2004-11-27

After reading the other reviews posted i think it is important to say that the game is neither of these two extremes it is not an exceptionally good game nor is it terrible. i think that they game is average. it is fun to play for a while i liked customizing the apartments and sims. Female sims can be customized much more than male sims. Unfortunatly for sims fans you can not marry, or move in with eachother. There are pets which can become annoying and after completing the goals the gameplay is not as satisfying as the other two console games. Building tools are tricky to use sometimes and there are a few minor bugs in the game. Overall i feel that the game is good and enjoy being able to visit different locations but in left me longing for the old sims.
Is Maxis joking?
by: Anonymous    On: 2004-11-13

I had to do little more than button-mashing to beat this game in under two hours. There is no strategy involved. I'm not sure why Maxis keeps bragging about the attitudes of the game's characters; every single one acts in the exact same way. None of them have any personality or interests. Character customization is extremely limited. What clothes you wear seems to have nothing to do with your "rep", despite what Maxis claims. How about that rep? Your character can easily become the most popular urb in under an hour no matter how hard you try to avoid it. The graphics are fair, but the load times are absurd. I know that many of you will buy The Urbz just because you love The Sims. Don't. Please, please, don't let Maxis rip you off with another of their poor efforts. Just admit that you didn't really like the other Sims console games; this one's even worse. There is far more attitude in a barbie doll than in all of the urbz combined.

(Edit: In response to Mr. Duckworth's angry reaction to my review)

You're right about one thing - The Sims 2 is an awesome game. In fact, I built my own computer especially for the releases of The Sims 2 and Black & White II, that's how well I think of them. The Sims 2 reminds me a bit of Mindscape's sophisticated Creatures series, which I highly, highly recommend for people who enjoy The Sims but want more to do in the genetics area. Unfortunately, there are some really great games out there, like those I mentioned, that many people will never play . . . because they don't hear about them. You must then see why it is important that games like The Urbz receive the negative reviews they deserve. The Urbz was hastily conceived, hastily developed, hastily advertised, and hastily bought by devoted Sims fans. Maxis has made some winners and it has made some garbage. This game is, uncontestably, garbage.
this game is awsome
by: Anonymous    On: 2004-08-06

this game is the best i fell in love with sims consol
It just keeps getting better!
by: nennida    On: 2004-07-15

Have been a sims fan since the PC versions came out. I have the previous 2 console sims and love them. Cannot wait for the urban sims game. I believe it will meet and beat my expectations

Copyright TheGameCube.com © 2001-2006 All Rights Reserved -- powered by hoZt.com